Board Releases
 
 
Back to Search

A+ A-
Title: The Capital Markets Authority Poll on the Draft Capital Adequacy Rules for Licensed Persons
Date Publish 18 February 2019


Kuwait, February 18, 2019. Based on the comprehensive vision of the Capital Markets Authority (CMA) to strengthen the legislative structure of the capital market, and in the framework of its efforts to activate its supervisory role and establish an effective regulatory system in line with the latest international standards and updates, it started to implement one of its strategic approaches “Preparation of the Capital Adequacy Rules for Licensed Persons", which represents a legal entitlement in accordance with the provisions of Law No. 7 of 2010 Regarding the Establishment of the Capital Markets Authority and Regulating Securities Activities, and its Executive Bylaws and their amendments, in particular item No. (2) of Article (66) of the Law, which stipulates that “A Person licensed to engage in the management of Securities activities shall comply with the regulations specified in the Bylaws and in particular as follows: 2- Maintain adequate capital”. Additionally, Article (6-4) of Module Six (Policies & Procedures of Licensed Persons) of the Executive Bylaws of Law No. 7 of 2010 Regarding the Establishment of the Capital Markets Authority and Regulating Securities Activities and their amendments, stipulates that “The Authority has the right to impose additional requirements or to make requests for specific reports to ensure that the Licensed Person has the ability to continue their  business,  particularly  holding  a  sufficiency  of  capital,  in  a  manner  that  is  commensurate  with  the  nature  and  volume  of  the  Securities  Activities  that  they  carry out.” 

These rules represent an important step in this regard, especially as it is one of the effective regulatory tools and mechanisms that enhance the efficiency of the performance of companies licensed to deal in securities and ensure the safety of their financial centers in proportion to the magnitude and nature of the risks they are exposed to, and the creation of a secure investment environment by providing the necessary precautions to secure risks related to the activities and transactions of licensed companies, in particular the risks resulting from the introduction of new products and financial activities within the phases of market development (such as short selling, lending and borrowing of shares, repurchase agreements, etc.), as well as capital requirements that correspond to the activities of the capital market infrastructure institutions (such as the central counterparty, etc.).

It is worth mentioning that the CMA, in cooperation with the international consultant (Ernst & Young Consulting), has prepared draft capital adequacy rules for licensed persons, as well as all templates of rules in both Arabic and English. It has also assessed their suitability to the business environment through conducting quantitative impact studies (1 - initial, 2 - comprehensive and final), which included the implementation of the draft rules on a selected sample of licensed persons, where the results showed the relevance of these rules to the business environment to a large extent, especially in terms of coverage of all types of risks associated with practice of securities activities licensed by the CMA. The assessment results also showed that most of the licensed persons participating at this phase have high rates of capital adequacy according to the measurement requirements specified in the draft rules.

The main principles underlying the preparation of the draft rules can be summarized in the following points:
• Risk-Based Approach is a basis for preparing the rules.
• Licensed persons’ compliance with these rules is represented in meeting the following: 
 Regulatory Capital of Licensed Person > Risk Based Capital Requirement
• The rules have been prepared in accordance with a mechanism that takes into consideration all the financial instruments and securities activities currently licensed by the CMA, and those that will be implemented during the interim phase of the market development project, in addition to those that will be implemented in the future according to the final structure of securities activities and new financial instruments.
• Initially, four licensed activities were excluded from the application of the rules, and the minimum paid-up capital will suffice. These activities are:
- Asset Valuator
- Investment Advisor
- Credit Rating Agency
- Investment Controller
• Additional requirements were identified by the financial market infrastructure institutions (FMIs - Financial Market Infrastructure).

These rules are expected to help reduce minimum capital requirements in general, which will enhance capital utilization for companies and the market in general, and to balance the risks to companies and the regulatory capital to be maintained by them.

Finally, the CMA believes that it is important to question the views of all market participants as well as those concerned with securities activities in general regarding their various perspectives related to these activities. In preparation for the final adoption of these rules, the CMA allows them to follow up the draft of these rules, along with the English and Arabic templates attached to this announcement on the website, and will receive all their views and observations thereon by Thursday, March 7, 2019, by e-mail: CapitalAdequacy@cma.gov.kw.

In the same context, it should be noted that the CMA held an awareness workshop on Monday, February 18, for licensed persons concerned with implementation of these rules in order to share these draft rules, clarify their contents and explain their templates.

Ends-
 Notes to Editors:
The Capital Markets Authority was established pursuant to Law No. 7/2010, approved by the Kuwaiti Parliament in February 2010. Pursuant to the Law, the CMA shall regulate and supervise the securities activities, achieve transparency and fairness, observe listed companies’ execution of Corporate Governance regulations, and protect investors from unfair practices which violate the CMA's Law.
Furthermore, the Law's provisions stipulate the supervision of mergers, acquisitions, and disclosure operations. The CMA also aims to provide awareness programs related to securities activities.
For further information, please contact:
Public Relations & Media Office
Tel: 22903062
Fax: 22903505 

نماذج تعليمات معيار كفاية رأس المال للأشخاص المرخص لهم
CMA Capital Adequacy Rules Templates
مسودة تعليمات كفاية رأس المال للأشخاص المرخص لهم
Draft Capital Adequacy Rules for LPs

 

Disclaimer: The information provided on this page is for reference purposes only, visitors are encouraged to review and understand the information provided in the official scanned document attached in the link above (if available). The CMA endeavors to ensure that the information on this page is complete and accurate, but the CMA does not guarantee the quality, accuracy, or completeness of any content at any time. In the event the information on this page is different from the content in the official scanned document attached in the link (if available), the official scanned document attached shall take precedence.
In this section

بيانات المجلس
 
 
عودة إلى البحث

A+ A-
العنوان: هيئة أسواق المال تستطلع الآراء بشأن مسودة تعليماتها لمعيار كفاية رأس المال للأشخاص المرخص لهم
تاريخ النشر 18 فبراير 2019


الكويت - 18 فبراير 2019 ، إنطلاقاً من الرؤية الشاملة لهيئة أسواق المال لتعزيز البنية التشريعية لمنظومة أسواق المال، وفي إطار سعيها لتفعيل الدور الرقابي المنوط بها، وإنشاء منظومةٍ رقابية فعّالة تحاكي أحدث المستجدات والمعايير الدولية المعمول بها، فقد شرعت بتنفيذ أحد توجهاتها الاستراتيجية والمتمثل بمشروع "إعداد تعليمات معيار كفاية رأس المال للأشخاص المرخص لهم"، والذي يمثل استحقاقاً قانونياً وفقاً لأحكام القانون رقم 7 لسنة 2010 بشأن إنشاء هيئة أسواق المال وتنظيم نشاط الأوراق المالية ولائحته التنفيذية وتعديلاتهما، وتحديداُ البند رقم (2) من المادة رقم (66) من القانون، والتي نصت على أنه "يجب على الشخص المرخص له بالعمل في إدارة نشاط الأوراق المالية الالتزام بالضوابط التي تحددها اللائحة، وعلى الأخص ما يلي: 2- الاحتفاظ برأس مال كاف"، فضلاُ عن المادة (4-6) من الكتاب السادس (السياسات والإجراءات الداخلية للشخص المرخص له) من اللائحة التنفيذية للقانون رقم 7 لسنة 2010 بشأن إنشاء هيئة أسواق المال وتنظيم نشاط الأوراق المالية وتعديلاتهما، والتي نصت على أن "للهيئة فرض متطلبات إضافية أو طلب تقارير بشكل محدد للتأكد من أن الشخص المرخص له لديه القدرة على الاستمرارية بأعماله وعلى الأخص الاحتفاظ برأس مال كافٍ، وذلك بما يتناسب مع حجم ونوع أنشطة الأوراق المالية التي يزاولها"، حيث تمثل هذه التعليمات خطوة هامة في هذا الإطار، خاصةً وأنها تعد إحدى الأدوات والآليات الرقابية الفعالة التي من شأنها تعزيز  كفاءة أداء الشركات المرخصة للتعامل في الأوراق المالية وضمان سلامة مراكزها المالية بشكل يتناسب مع حجم وطبيعة المخاطر التي تتعرض لها، هذا فضلاً عن مساهمتها في حماية حقوق المستثمرين، وخلق بيئة استثمارية آمنة عن طريق توفير الاحتياطات اللازمة لتأمين المخاطر المتعلقة بأعمال وتعاملات الشركات المرخصة، خاصة المخاطر الناتجة عن طرح منتجات وانشطة مالية جديدة ضمن مراحل تطوير السوق (مثل البيع على المكشوف، واقراض واقتراض الأسهم، واتفاقيات إعادة الشراء، إلخ) بالإضافة إلى متطلبات رأس مال تتوافق مع أنشطة مؤسسات البنية الأساسية لأسواق المال المستحدثة في السوق (مثل الوسيط المقابل المركزي، إلخ).
  
وتجدر الإشارة إلى قيام الهيئة بالتعاون مع المستشار العالمي (شركة إرنست ويونغ للاستشارات) بإعدادهما مسودة تعليمات كفاية رأس المال للأشخاص المرخص لهم، وكذلك إعدادهما كافة النماذج الخاصة بالتعليمات باللغتين: العربية والإنجليزية وبتقييم مدى ملاءمتها لبيئة الأعمال و ذلك من خلال إجراء عمليات "دراسة الأثر الكمي المختلفة" (1- المبدئية ، 2- الشاملة والنهائية)، والتي تضمنت تطبيق مسودة التعليمات على عينة مختارة من الأشخاص المرخص لهم ، حيث أظهرت النتائج ملاءمة تلك التعليمات لبيئة الأعمال إلى حدٍ بعيد، لاسيما من حيث تغطيتها لكافة أنواع المخاطر المصاحبة لممارسة أنشطة الأوراق المالية المرخص لها من قبل الهيئة، كما أظهرت نتائج التقييم أيضاً أن معظم الأشخاص المرخص لهم المشاركين في هذه المرحلة يتمتعون بمعدلات كفاية رأس مال عالية وفقاً لمتطلبات القياس المحددة في مسودة التعليمات.
 
ويمكن إيجاز أبرز الأسس التي ارتكز إليها إعداد مسودة التعليمات في النقاط التالية:
• احتساب رأس المال المطلوب بناءً على المخاطر (Risk-Based Approach) كأساس لإعداد التعليمات.
• يتمثل الإلتزام بهذه التعليمات بإستيفاء الشخص المرخص له لكلٍ من: 
 
رأس المال الرقابي للشخص المرخص له > متطلبات رأس المال المحتسبة بناءً على المخاطر 
 
• تم إعداد التعليمات وفق آليةٍ تراعي كافة الأدوات المالية وأنشطة الأوراق المالية المرخصة من الهيئة حالياً، وتلك التي سيتم العمل بها خلال المرحلة الانتقالية لمشروع تطوير السوق، بالإضافة إلى تلك التي سيتم العمل بها مستقبلاً وفق الهيكل النهائي لأنشطة الأوراق المالية والأدوات المالية الجديدة. 
• بصورة مبدئية، تم إستثناء أربعة أنشطة مرخصة من تطبيق التعليمات ليتم الإكتفاء بالحد الأدنى لرأس المال المدفوع، وهذه الأنشطة هي: 
- مقوم الأصول.
- مستشار الاستثمار.
- وكالة التصنيف الائتماني.
- مراقب استثمار.
• تم تحديد متطلبات إضافية مؤسسات البنية الأساسية لأسواق المال FMIs – Financial Market Infrastructure.
 
ومن المنتظر أن تساعد هذه التعليمات على تخفيض متطلبات الحد الأدنى من رأس المال المدفوع بشكل عام، الأمر الذي سيعزز مدى الاستفادة من رأس المال بكفاءة أعلى للشركات وللسوق على وجه العموم، وبشكل يوازن بين المخاطر التي تتعرّض لها الشركات ورأس المال الرقابي الواجب الاحتفاظ به من جانبها.
 
وأخيراً، فإن هيئة أسواق المال وإنطلاقاً من قناعتها بأهمية استبيان آراء كافة المتعاملين في السوق وكذلك المعنيين بأنشطة الأوراق المالية على وجه العموم بشأن مختلف توجهاتها ذات الصلة بتلك الأنشطة، وتمهيداً لإعتماد تلك التعليمات بصورةٍ نهائية فإنها تتيح لهم إمكانية متابعة مسودة تلك التعليمات مع النماذج الخاصة بها باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية في مرفقتاً بهذا الإعلان على موقعها الإلكتروني، كما تستقبل كافة آرائهم وملاحظاتهم بشأنها لغاية يوم الخميس الموافق 7 مارس 2019، وذلك عبر البريد الإلكتروني المخصص لهذه التعليمات CapitalAdequacy@cma.gov.kw.
 
وفي الإطار ذاته، تجدر الإشارة إلى قيام هيئة أسواق المال يوم الإثنين الموافق للثامن عشر من فبراير الحالي بتنفيذ ورشة عمل توعوية للأشخاص المرخص لهم المعنيين بتطبيق تلك التعليمات بهدف مشاركتهم مسودة التعليمات تلك، وإيضاح مضمونها وشرح نماذجها. 
 
– انتهى –
 
ايضاح إلى المحررين:
 
تأسست هيئة أسواق المال الكويتية وفقاً للقانون رقم 7/2010 الذي أقره مجلس الأمة في فبراير 2010 وتعديلاته، وبموجب القانون تقوم الهيئة بتنظيم ومراقبة أنشطة الأوراق المالية وتحقيق مبدأ الشفافية والعدالة والكفاءة وإلزام الشركات المدرجة بتنفيذ مبادئ حوكمة الشركات وحماية المستثمرين من الممارسات الغير عادلة والمخالفة لقانون الهيئة.
ويدعو القانون أيضاً إلى الإشراف على عمليات الدمج والاستحواذ والإفصاح. وتهدف الهيئة أيضاً إلى توفير برامج توعوية عن أنشطة الأوراق المالية. 
ولمزيـد مـن المعلومـات، يرجى الاتصال بـ: 
مكتب العلاقات العامة والاعلام.
تليفون: 22903062
فاكس: 22903505

نماذج تعليمات معيار كفاية رأس المال للأشخاص المرخص لهم

CMA Capital Adequacy Rules Templates

مسودة تعليمات كفاية رأس المال للأشخاص المرخص لهم

Draft Capital Adequacy Rules for LPs

توضيح قانوني: الغرض من توفير المعلومات الواردة في هذه الصفحة هو لهدف الاطلاع فقط، حيث يجب مراعاة وفهم المعلومات المعتمدة الواردة في الوثيقة الرسمية المرفقة في الرابط المذكور أعلاه (في حال توفرها). وتبذل الهيئة ما بوسعها لعرض المعلومات المبينة في الصفحة بصورة وافية ودقيقة بقدر الإمكان، ولكنها لا تضمن نوعية ودقة واكتمال أي من تلك المعلومات في أي وقت. وفي حال اختلاف البيانات والمعلومات الواردة في الصفحة والوثيقة الرسمية المرفقة في الرابط (في حال توفرها)، فتكون المرجعية إلى الوثيقة الرسمية المرفقة. .