Announcement

Tue,21 May 2019

CMA Announcement


Sun,19 May 2019

CMA Announcement


Sun,19 May 2019

CMA Announcement


Chairman's Message

A+ A-

The issuance of Law No. (7) of 2010 regarding the Establishment of the Capital Markets Authority and Regulating Securities Activities (CMA Law) was a significant financial and economic event. It is the first comprehensive law for regulating the capital markets in the State of Kuwait. Many of the Law-related goals were accomplished during the first five years of CMA's establishment, in particular those relevant to regulating securities activities, protecting traders and raising awareness amongst them, reducing the systemic risks, implementing the disclosure policy, ensuring compliance with relevant laws and bylaws, and issuing rules and regulations which fall within the Authority's competences. 

Although the CMA's achievements are considered a quantum leap, the present and the forthcoming time carries a number of challenges and aspirations. The CMA looks forward to a better market regulation and activities performance, which requires more efforts in order to achieve more successes. An ideal and promising market and investment infrastructure will be enhanced on both regional and international level. Such period comes along with approving a number of amendments pursuant to the provisions of Law No. (22) of 2015 on some provisions of the CMA Law. These amendments emphasize the CMA's administrative and financial independency, which in respect will enhance the CMA's regulatory role in regulating the capital markets with complete independency, transparency, and neutrality. 

Additionally, the mentioned amendments include provisions that will enhance the capital market activity in respect of the new goals to develop the capital markets and diversify investment instruments. Moreover, the amendments also issued rules for market makers, investment controller activity, and credit rating agency activity. There were also amendments in the disclosure rules, the tax exemptions regarding securities, and the execution of shares and other securities in order to make such securities an attracting financial assurance that encourages banks to give loans and eventually promoting the market, authorizing the CMA to set-up the rules of securities regulation, exempting few cases from the mandatory acquisition, preventing illegal behavior regarding some of the crimes speculated in the CMA Law, as well as authorizing the CMA to issue rules to regulate special purpose companies. 

One of the most important amendments is relevant to the establishment of Kuwait Securities Exchange Company (Boursa Kuwait) to be in more flexible manner, and allowing an international market operator to enter the market. It shall contribute in the establishment of a solid and attractive securities exchange that is capable of taking a prominent place among the Gulf and international markets. 

There is a lot of hope and trust that such amendments would be in the benefit of the investment environment which is connected to the securities activities in Kuwait. It will protect small investors and introduce new investment instruments. Nevertheless, the CMA spares no effort to prepare regulations and decisions which correspond with such amendments whether by issuing the required decisions or by amending the Executive Bylaws and the regulations. 

On the subject of awareness, one of the main CMA roles is awareness in securities activities. The CMA strived to communicate with regulated persons in order to provide them with answers to their inquiries through periodical meetings held weekly as seminars at Kuwait Stock Exchange building, or through other means of communication. The CMA also ensures awareness amongst the public and persons dealing in securities activities to avoid any conduct that may lead to violating the CMA's Law, or any other regulations or decisions it issues, through awareness publications which the CMA distributes from time to time, and publishes in the local newspapers or on the CMA's website. The CMA believes in the importance of such role, therefore it started holding internal training seminars and group discussions among its employees regarding the different legal and technical aspects linked to the CMA's Law and its work, and to keep them informed of the latest updates in order to improve their performance and reach the highest standard in implementing the CMA's Law, bylaws, and regulations. The latest amendments of the Law included the issuance of a new provision on establishing an educational or training institution to provide qualifications. This will definitely contribute in providing Kuwait citizens with the required experience and competence, as well as training employees and others who are working in the securities activities industry. 

Furthermore the CMA has accomplished many important achievements, locally regionally and internationally. On the local level, the CMA's efforts resulted in finding coordination by signing MOU with other supervisory authorities such as the Ministry of Commerce and Industry, which will be of great effect on coordinating the supervisory role between the two, in addition to continuously updating and coordinating the work to oversee the enforcement of the MOU signed with the Central Bank of Kuwait. All of these efforts will certainly minimize the overlap in functions and eventually will have a positive effect on the regulated entities and persons. It will also facilitate and simplify the work procedures. On the other hand, on the regional and international level the CMA has signed MOUs with foreign counterpart institutions with regards to organizing, coordinating and participating in joint activities, as well as working towards unifying work mechanisms and systems of securities activities and market operations among its counterparts in the GCC. The CMA plays a vital role within the framework of the Union of Arab Securities. It also works hard towards implementing the international standards in the industry of securities activities in order to obtain membership of the IOSCO, and accordingly leads Kuwait market to be classified as a promising emerging market. 

At the end, and on behalf of my colleagues, members of the Board of Commissioners of the CMA and myself, and in the name of all CMA staff, I would like to thank His Highness the Amir Sheikh Sabah Al-Ahmed Al-Jaber Al-Sabah, Sheikh Nawaf Al-Ahmad Al-Jaber Al-Sabah, Crown Prince of Kuwait and Sheikh Jaber Al-Mubarak Al-Hamad Al-Sabah, Prime Minister of Kuwait for their kind and continuous consideration for the CMA's efforts. We would also like to emphasize the CMA's keenness on continuing to work and follow their wise guidance to achieve the best interest of our national economy.

كلمة الرئيس

A+ A-

لقد كان صدور القانون رقم 7 لسنة 2010 بشأن إنشاء هيئة أسواق المال و تنظيم نشاط الأوراق المالية (قانون الهيئة) حدثاً هاماً على الصعيدين المالي والإقتصادي في دولة الكويت وذلك باعتباره أول قانون متكامل لتنظيم أسواق المال في دولة الكويت. وقد تمثلت إنجازات هيئة أسواق المال (الهيئة) خلال السنوات الخمس الماضية، وهي الفترة التأسيسية، في العمل على تحقيق أهداف هامة من التي نص عليها قانون الهيئة، وخاصة تلك التي تصب في مجال تنظيم أنشطة الأوراق المالية وتوعية المتعاملين وحمايتهم وتقليل الأخطار النمطية وتطبيق سياسة الإفصاح والحرص على الالتزام بالقوانين واللوائح ذات الصلة، وإصدار التعليمات والقرارات التي تتعلق باختصاصات الهيئة. 

وإذا كانت الإنجازات التي حققتها الهيئة خلال الفترة الماضية كبيرة، فإن المرحلة الحالية والقادمة تتضمن و تحمل الكثير من التحديات والأعمال والتطلعات للهيئة، وبما يصاحب ذلك كله من طموحات نحو الوصول إلى أعلى مستوى تنظيمي ورقابي على السوق، وأفضل أداء متصور لنشاطه ؛ الأمر الذى يتطلب في تلك المرحلة بذل جهد مضاعف لتحقيق نجاحات أكبر للهيئة لتعزيز البنية الاستثمارية المُثلى والأسواق المالية الواعدة على المستويين الإقليمي والدولي. ويتعاصر مع تلك المرحلة، التعديلات التي تم إقرارها على قانون الهيئة بموجب أحكام القانون رقم (22) لسنة 2015 بتعديل بعض أحكام قانون الهيئة. إذ جاءت هذه التعديلات بأحكام هامة تؤكد في مجملها على استقلالية الهيئة من الناحيتين الإدارية والمالية، الأمر الذى يعزز قيام الهيئة بأداء دورها الرقابي ووظيفتها في تنظيم السوق المالية باستقلالية وشفافية وحيادية كاملة. 

كما جاءت التعديلات المذكورة بأحكام مؤثرة في تنشيط السوق المالية وذلك بما استحدثته من أهداف لتنمية أسواق المال وتنويع وتطوير أدواتها الاستثمارية وخلق نظام صانع السوق ونشاط مراقب الاستثمار ونشاط وكالة التصنيف الائتماني، وتعديل في قواعد الإفصاح، والاعفاءات الضريبية بالنسبة للأوراق المالية، والتنفيذ على الأسهم والأوراق المالية الأخرى لجعل تلك الأوراق ضماناً مالياً جاذباً بما يشجع البنوك على الإقراض ومن ثَّم تنشيط السوق، وتفويض الهيئة في وضع القواعد التي تخص إصدار تنظيم الأوراق المالية، و إعفاء بعض الحالات من الاستحواذ الالزامي، وضبط السلوك المؤثم في بعض الجرائم المنصوص عليها في قانون الهيئة، وتفويض الهيئة وضع قواعد وتنظيم الشركات ذات الغرض الخاص. وفضلاً عن تعديلات أخرى هامة، فإن التعديل في أسلوب تخصيص سوق الكويت للأوراق المالية بإنشاء شركة البورصة بشكل أكثر مرونة وإدخال مُشغّل عالمي سوف يسهم في إقامة بورصة قوية وجاذبة للمستثمرين وقادرة على تبوأ المركز الذى يليق بدولة الكويت بين بورصات الأسواق الأسواق الخليجية والعالمية. 

وإذا كان الأمل معقوداً، والثقة كبيرة، في أن تلك التعديلات سوف تعود بالنفع على المناخ الاستثماري في أنشطة الأوراق المالية في دولة الكويت وحماية صغار المستثمرين واستحداث أدوات استثمارية جديدة، فإن الهيئة لا تألو الجهد وبذل العمل المتواصل من أجل إعداد التعليمات والقرارات التي تتناسب مع تلك التعديلات سواء بإصدار القرارات اللازمة أو بإدخال التعديلات المواءمة في اللائحة التنفيذية والتعليمات. 

وفي مجال التوعية في مجال نشاط الأوراق المالية، وهو أحد الأدوار المحورية لاختصاص وأعمال الهيئة، فقد سعت الهيئة على التواصل مع الأشخاص الخاضعين للرقابة لتزويدهم بالإجابات عن الأسئلة والاستفسارات، وذلك من خلال اللقاءات الدورية التي تعقدها الهيئة أسبوعياً في شكل حلقات نقاشية بمبني سوق الكويت للأوراق المالية، أو غير ذلك من وسائل. كما تحرص الهيئة على توعية الجمهور والمتعاملين في نشاط الأوراق المالية من تجنب الانخراط في أي سلوك يمكن أن يؤدى إلى مخالفة قانون الهيئة أو أي تعليمات أو قرارات تصدرها الهيئة وذلك من خلال النشرات التوعوية التي تنشرها الهيئة من وقت لآخر وتنشرها في الصحف المحلية، ومن خلال الموقع الالكتروني للهيئة. بل إنه إيماناً من الهيئة بأهمية هذا الدور ، فقد بدأت الهيئة في عقد ندوات داخلية تدريبية وحلقات نقاشية متصلة لموظفيها فيما يخص الجوانب القانونية والفنية المختلفة المتصلة بقانون الهيئة وأعمالها وإطلاعهم على أحدث المستجدات في هذا المجال، وذلك بهدف تطوير أدائهم والوصول به إلى أرقي المعايير لتطبيق قانون الهيئة ولوائحها وتعليماتها. ولا شك أن استحداث حكم جديد في التعديلات الأخيرة في قانون الهيئة لإنشاء مؤسسة تعليمية أو تدريبية لتأهيل وتخريج خبرات مصقولة للعمل بأنشطة الأوراق المالية سوف يسهم بشكل فاعل في بناء الخبرات والكفاءات المحلية من الكويتيين، ويمثل إسهاماً كبيراً لتطوير تدريب الموظفين وغيرهم من العاملين في مجال نشاط الأوراق المالية. 

وعلى المستوي الداخلي والصعيدين الإقليمي والدولي، فقد حققت الهيئة انجازات هامة. فعلى المستوى الداخلي، أسفرت جهود الهيئة في التنسيق مع الجهات الرقابية الأخرى مثل وزارة التجارة والصناعة عن توقيع مذكرة تفاهم هامة سيكون لها أبلغ الأثر على تنسيق الدور الرقابي لكل من الهيئة والوزارة المذكورة، فضلاً عن موالاة التحديث والتنسيق لمتابعة إعمال مذكرة التفاهم مع بنك الكويت المركزي. وكل ذلك سيساهم بلاشك في فض الاشتباك الرقابي مما ينعكس إيجابياً على الجهات والأشخاص الخاضعين للرقابة وتيسير وتبسيط الاجراءات في بيئة الأعمال. أما على الصعيدين الإقليمي والدولي، فقد وقعّت الهيئة مذكرات تفاهم مع جهات ومؤسسات مثيلة في دول أخرى من أجل إرساء آليات العمل المشترك في مجال أنشطة الأوراق المالية وتعزيز أواصر التعاون مع تلك الجهات، فضلاً عن التواصل الحثيث مع الهيئات المثيلة لدى مجلس دول التعاون الخليجي للعمل على توحيد آليات وأنظمة العمل في أنشطة الأوراق المالية وتعامل الأسواق فيها، وكذلك الدور الذى تقوم به الهيئة في إطار اتحاد الأوراق المالية العربية. كما تبذل الهيئة العمل الدؤوب لتطبيق المعايير الدولية في مجال أنشطة الأوراق المالية، من أجل الدخول في عضوية المنظمة الدولية لهيئات الأوراق المالية، مما سيدفع بالسوق الكويتي لتصنيفه باعتباره سوقاًَ ناشئاً واعداً. 

وأخيراً، فإنه يشرفني بالأصالة عن نفسي ونيابة عن زملائي أعضاء مجلس مفوضي الهيئة وباسم كافة العاملين في الهيئة أن أرفع أسمى آيات التقدير إلى مقام حضرة صاحب السمو أمير البلاد الشيخ صباح الأحمد الجابر الصباح حفظه الله ورعاه، وسمو ولي عهده الأمين الشيخ نواف الأحمد الجابر الصباح حفظه الله ورعاه، وسمو رئيس مجلس الوزراء الشيخ جابر المبارك الحمد الصباح على رعايتهم السامية الدائمة والمتواصلة لجهود هيئة أسواق المال، كما نؤكد حرص الهيئة والعاملين فيها على مواصلة جهودهم والعمل بنهج توجيهاتهم الحكيمة لما فيه تحقيق مصلحة اقتصادنا الوطني.

والله ولي التوفيق ،،،